Do I have a Dupe?

If you have been reading my posts for a while, you might notice that I enjoy YouTube channels as much as I like anime; however, makeup gurus on YouTube are absolute geniuses.

I find it helpful when any of these channels feature dupes for high-end brands because it proves that the price tag doesn’t mean a thing. In some cases, the splurge is worth it. For instance, (this item is not about beauty, yet it stresses the point) a 5qt. Le Creusset  dutch oven is a high-end piece; however, in the log run, this brand has been in business since 1902 and it is because of the quality they are known for. That being said, same goes for makeup.

Kicking of this article is perhaps the most controversial brand that is still on the news because she’s part of the Kardashian-Jenner clan. Of course, I’m writing about The Kylie Lip Kit- The kit has mixed reviews; nonetheless, this is not meant to throw shade at the brand, yet I’m not the first one to point out what others have done before.

This past May, a blogger known as Stephanie Nicole, compared each ingredient to its sister company, ColourPop Cosmetics. This young brand continuously has complaints because of its customer service. Regardless of the pessimistic launch, the brand still sells like fresh bread. However, many articles and YouTube beauty gurus have found it’s affordable match.

Read the full story featuring Stephanie Nicole’s discovery by clicking the link  Allure article

Although, I must point out that the pencil liners were top quality, but the liquid lipstick tells a different story. Moving away from its re-formulation, there are dupes that makes this new brand run for its money. Based on various suggestions is to buy their sister company line, ColourPop Cosmestics. Still, I found the best article that brings the best matches were from Seventeen Magazine and I picked the two most popular colors.

Click the link to read the full article from Seventeen Magazine

Nyx Soft Matte Lip Cream in Cannes, $6  = Dolce K. $29

gallery-1452143086-sev-kylielips-dolcek

Seventeen Magazine

L’Oreal Infallible Never Fail Lipcolor in Terra Cotta $9.45 = 22 $29

gallery-1459288074-sev-kylielips-22

Seventeen Magazine

Now, in terms of eye shadows, I’ve used these brands Urban Decay, Wet n’ Wild and Maybelline and their eye palettes are quite similar.

 

Hence, this is a double dupe! Urban Decay: Naked 3 Palette retails for $54; however, for those that love to save money and are fond of these nudes and shimmery colors. I have two dupes, the first one is from Maybelline: The Blushed Nudes $8.98 and a much affordable version is from Wet n’ Wild: Au Naturel $5.62.

Continuing on the eye section, I have to share this little short story about eyeliners. Earlier this year, I get this cool reminder via e-mail by Sephora congratulating me for turning a year older and to not forget my birthday gift. If you don’t have a Sephora account (it’s free!) because they have great offers and their birthday gifts are never disappointing.

This year they gave a nice sample pack from Marc Jacobs. I have the Highliner Gel Eye Crayon: Blacquer 42 black 

I must say the NYC one is just a little bit opaque in comparison to the Marc Jacobs one. Overall, this is an excellent dupe. Marc Jacobs Highliner Gel Eye Crayon Eyeliner $25 and NYC CityProof 24 Hr. Eyeliner Pencil 931 Black $3.99

Closing the eye chapter is the lovely mascara. I confess, I don’t use mascara as part of my everyday routine because I have severe allergies. Usually mascaras makes my eyes very watery and itchy. (Also, I’m somewhat lazy) There are two brands that I recommend for those that have sensitive eyes like me: Diorshow Waterproof Mascara and Chanel Inimitable Waterproof .

More than a dupe, these are other alternatives if you want fuller lashes and pay less than $30 for a mascara. As a fair warning, I have not tried these brands, but some of my friends have raved about the Cover Girl The Super Sizer because it adds volumes and adds length to the eye lash. It retails for $6.00 which is a good price! Another option is the Physicians Formula Organic Wear Jumbo Wear Mascara and it is $7.99.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Jumping into foundation and powder, when I graduated from high school, I wanted to wear makeup; however, I wanted a brand that was known for their excellence and this is how I landed on MAC. I still remember I received three items: powder, eye shadow, and a blush. I have not found an exact dupe to their  Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation $27. Yet, there are two dupes that are close to this line in terms of durability and it sits well on the skin: Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder $4 and Revlon Photo Ready Powder $10.66

 

Lastly, I have to broadcast that I wear lipstick as my blush because I feel it stays longer on my face and it looks natural. If you want to consider this part as a second lip dupe, I completely understand.

So here’s my final dupe because I do not use cream blush which I know there are excellent brands out there; however, I believe lipstick does a better job. I wear the Smashbox : Be Legendary Posy Pink $21, but for a while I thought I lost it and I had to buy a quick replacement.

It was the end of the month, so bills were due and as a result my funds were a bit low. And this dupe is a bit brighter, yet it looks very similar to its high-end version. I use the Wet n’ Wild Mega Last Lip #967 Dollhouse Pink $4.

Hence, this is the detailed list of all of the brands that were mentioned on this article

High-End Drugstore
Kylie: Dolce K $29.00                           (Without Shipping cost) NYX in Cannes $6.00
Kylie: 22 $29.00 (Without Shipping cost) L’Oreal Terra Cotta $9.45
Urban Decay: Naked 3 $54.00 Maybelline: The Blushed Nude $8.98
Wet n’ Wild Au Naturale $5.62
Marc Jacobs Eyeliner $25.00 NYC: CityProof 24 Hr. Eyeliner $3.99
Diorshow $27.50 Cover Girl: The Super Sizer $6.85
Chanel Inimitable $32.00 Physicians Formula Organic Mascara $7.96
MAC: Studio Fix Powder Plus Foundation $27.00 Rimmel: Stay Matte Pressed Powder $4.00
Revlon: Photo Ready Pressed Powder $10.66
Smashbox: Be Legendary Posy Pink $21.00 Wet n’ Wild: #967 Dollhouse Pink $4.00
Total: $244.50 (Without tax) Total: $67.51 (Without tax)
Difference: $176.99 (Without tax)

This is the end of the dupes. Any other options better out there? Let me know.

All Rights Reserved. DISCLAIMER: alsy365 blog claims no credit for any images or videos featured on this site unless otherwise noted. All visual content is copyrighted to its respective owners. alsy365 blog Information on this site may contain errors or inaccuracies. If you own rights to any of the content and wish to have it removed please let me know.

Leave a Reply

