Grammy’s 2013

Oh, the restrictions! Before tonight, the people attending the Grammy’s received a hefty letter with restrictions about their gowns and it was clear about what not to wear. Although, some actually broke the rules because they knew it would have been scandalous to stop a guest from attending the Grammy’s…it was not ridiculous, but some made desperate attempts to show the audience, “I’m a rule breaker!”

Jennifer Lopez made headlines in the early 2000′s with her sexy  Versace gown, but JLO is persistent. She really wanted to re-live the vast amount of attention she gained back then. During her quick interview with Ryan Seacrest, she said, “I’m a rule breaker!” by showing up to the red carpet with Jolie-like leg cleavage. My grade for her look is 1/10 because it is a desperate attempt to demonstrate that she is still hot. Darling, you are gorgeous, yet this dress seems to be made out of a cheap polyester material. In addition, the black gown had an odd sleeve that I thought it made this dress worst. Her hair and nails did not help this entire look at all!

InStyle/ Getty Images (2)

InStyle/ Getty Images (2)

Lately, Taylor Swift is pulling further away from her good girl image to a sultry look. Overall, she’s stepping into womanhood or more into sexy-hood. So far, she has been utilizing white colors in her dresses and it is an elegant gown. I do think the cleavage is a little too low; however, the J. Mendel dress is a new twist to the Grecian goddess white gown with silver linings hugging her slim figure in the right directions. My grade for Swift is 8/10

Christopher Polk/Getty Images for NARAS

Christopher Polk/Getty Images for NARAS

Katy Perry landed on the red carpet with a minty gown by Gucci. Again, her cleavage is borderline sexy to tacky. It is not that I am against cleavages, but I do think that female actresses or singers should be a little more precautions to prevent any unwanted accidents. Still, Perry’s look is simple and she obtains a 8/10.

Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Rihanna looks FANTASTIC in a red Azzedine Alaia! She is the first 10 of the night. She looks flawless and I think if she would have been a contestant in Miss Universe, I would have given her the crown. My final grade 10/10 because it was glamorous and it was daring without the need to show too much skin.

Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Jason Merritt/Getty Images

Adele finally listened to my pleads to abandon her black sack potato gowns. She looked youthful and like the awakening of a shiny morning of spring. The dress construction demonstrated her best body features because she would always hide her beautiful curves by wearing her tedious dark gowns. I will point out as an advice that if one is already wearing a floral dress or printed dress, it is better to avoid printed shoes. Already the dress carries a vast quantity of print and adding printed shoes into the equation could backfire. Adele’s Valentino floral dress earns a worthy 9.5/10

Christopher Polk/Getty Images for NARAS

Christopher Polk/Getty Images for NARAS

First time nominee, Carly Rae Jepsen…call a new stylist, maybe? I’ve seen this Roberto Cavalli in previous red carpets by different designers. She’s young and I think the gown is safe, but at least walk your first Grammy red carpet with a little more effort and this critique also includes her hair-do. My final grade is 5/10 because this entire look lacks effort or hire Rachel Zoe for a higher grade.

Christopher Polk/Getty Images for NARAS

Christopher Polk/Getty Images for NARAS

Florence Welch has always said, “I love fashion.” One thing is liking fashion and another is knowing great fashion. Her custom made green gown by Givenchy gave me a 90′s flashback. The first thing that crossed my mind was “Reptar (T-Rex from the Nickelodeon show, The Rugrats) has lost his skin and Florence is wearing it!” She has terrible taste to the point that I had to think twice if I wanted to add her in my critique. Sadly her grade is 3/10

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Janelle Monae…has she ever worn a gown at a red carpet? I like her attire for a live performance, yet for the red carpet this is an exhausted look. She’s beautiful and I believe she can look fabulous in couture gown. My score is a 6/10 because her entire attire is repetitive.

InStyle

InStyle

My reaction to Kimbra’s dress is…what the hell is she wearing? 1980′s barbie lost her dress. She looks happy in her gown, but it is terrible. I’m sorry Kimbra, 2/10

REUTERS/Mario Anzuoni

REUTERS/Mario Anzuoni

Kelly Rowland knows how to look sensual. The singer looks stunning in this fiery Georges Chakra mermaid gown. Rowland will certainly gain plenty attention with the creative cleavages the gown has all over her body. My grade 10/10

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Alright, I was not going to add males into this article, but John Mayer forced me to do so. He walked the red carpet in a non-traditional indigo tuxedo jacket. I highly recommend for my dear reader to rent the film, Serendipity starring John Cusack and Kate Beckinsale because there is a scene where Cusack’s character is suggested to try on a similar tux Mayer wore tonight. Cusack’s character’s reaction towards this jacket was, “I look like a magician!” Yes, he looks like one.

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Kevin Mazur/WireImage

Overall, this year’s red carpet was safe because of the restrictions CBS imposed this year. I would suggest that they should include ridiculous entrances like Lady Gaga’s egg moment at the 2011 Grammy’s. I believe that kind of entrances delays the other guests from walking the red carpet freely.

All Rights Reserved. DISCLAIMER: alsy365 blog claims no credit for any images or videos featured on this site unless otherwise noted. All visual content is copyrighted to its respective owners. alsy365 blog Information on this site may contain errors or inaccuracies. If you own rights to any of the content and wish to have it removed please let me know.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 156 other followers

